Aurora, CUW, Lakeland Share NACC Women's Volleyball Title; Tournament Field Set

Aurora, Concordia Wisconsin and Lakeland claimed a share of the 2019 NACC women's volleyball title as the league schedule wrapped up Wednesday evening.
Aurora, Concordia Wisconsin and Lakeland claimed a share of the 2019 NACC women's volleyball title as the league schedule wrapped up Wednesday evening.

MILWAUKEE, Wis. ( --- When the dust settled on the 2019 Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) women's volleyball regular season Wednesday night, a trio of programs found themselves laying claim to a share of the NACC title.

Aurora University, Concordia University Wisconsin and Lakeland University each finished tied atop the table with 10-2 marks. For Aurora, it marked a second-straight title and third NACC crown overall (2006, 2018), while it is the fourth championship for both Concordia Wisconsin and Lakeland. CUW's previous titles came in 2010, 2016 and 2017, while the Muskies' three previous crowns came in succession from 2007-2009. This is the third time a NACC women's volleyball title has been shared (2009, 2012) and the second time it has been split three ways (2009-Benedictine, Dominican, Lakeland).

NACC Women's Volleyball Tournament Central 
Tournament Bracket

Once all of the relevant tiebreakers were applied, Aurora emerged as the top seed for next week's NACC Women's Volleyball Tournament, while Concordia Wisconsin is seeded second and Lakeland third. Dominican University captured the No. 4 seed via tiebreaker over fifth-seeded Wisconsin Lutheran College, while Benedictine University rounds out the field as the No. 6 seed.

The tournament begins Tuesday, Nov. 5, with a pair of first-round matches. Lakeland plays host to Benedictine, while Wisconsin Lutheran travels to Dominican.

The Spartans and Falcons earned first-round byes for the tournament by virtue of their top-two seeding and will host semifinal matches Thursday, Nov. 7. Aurora will face the winner of the Dominican/Wisconsin Lutheran match, while the Lakeland/Benedictine winner faces Concordia Wisconsin.

The championship match is slated for Saturday, Nov. 9, at the highest remaining seed. The winner earns the NACC's automatic berth into the 2019 NCAA Division III Women's Volleyball Championship. 

Aurora is the defending conference tournament champion, picking up their first such crown with a five-set win over Concordia Wisconsin. Dominican leads all NACC schools with four tournament titles, followed by Lakeland with three and Benedictine and Concordia Wisconsin with two apiece. Wisconsin Lutheran, making its eighth tournament appearance, will be looking for its first tournament victory.


2019 NACC Women's Volleyball Tournament
#1 Aurora (10-2)
#2 Concordia Wisconsin (10-2)
#3 Lakeland (10-2)
#4 Dominican (9-3)
#5 Wisconsin Lutheran (9-3)
#6 Benedictine (8-4)

First Round - Tuesday, November 5
No. 5 Wisconsin Lutheran at No. 4 Dominican, 7 p.m.
No. 6 Benedictine at No. 3 Lakeland, 7 p.m.

Semifinals - Thursday, November 7
No. 4/5 winner at No. 1 Aurora, 7 p.m.
No. 3/6 winner at No. 2 Concordia Wisconsin, 7 p.m.

Final - Saturday, November 9, TBA
Semifinal winners at higher seed