Dominican's Williams and Mason, IIT's Griggs Headline All-NACC Women's Soccer Honors

(Griggs photo credit: Judith Rackow)
(Griggs photo credit: Judith Rackow)

MILWAUKEE, Wis. ( --- The Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) has announced its major awards and all-conference teams for the 2018 women's soccer season. All awards are voted on by the league's head coaches.

Dominican University's Josseline Williams earned her second consecutive NACC Offensive Player of the Year honor, while teammate Danielle Mason was named NACC Defensive Player of the Year. Illinois Institute of Technology's Jamie Griggs was tapped as this year's NACC Freshman of the Year and Dominican's Carlos Carrillo was named the league's Coach of the Year.

Williams, one of the top scorers in NCAA Division III, leads the NACC with 54 points on 25 goals and four assists on a league-best 118 shots headed into Saturday's NACC Tournament championship match. She also leads NCAA Division III with 10 game-winning goals. This season, the junior jumped from 21st to sixth place on the NACC's all-time scoring list with 150 career points and is tied for fourth on the career goals chart with 69. Williams scored multiple goals in eight games, including four against Rockford on Sept. 12 and three - with an assist - at Edgewood on Oct. 13.

Mason, Dominican's starting center back, was the anchor of a Stars back line that did not allow a goal to a NACC opponent during the regular season. A great one-on-one defender, she kept the Dominican defense organized and was a key reason the Stars have allowed just six goals through 19 games and - at one point - had a shutout streak of nearly 1,500 minutes. 

Griggs was Illinois Tech's second-leading scorer behind fellow all-NACC first-teamer Katie Hoefgen (20-9-49) with 35 points on 15 goals and five assists and ranked fourth among league players in both points and goals. She converted on nearly half (15-of-32) of her shots on goal.

Carrillo, in his fifth season at the helm, was recognized by his peers after guiding the Stars to a 17-2-0 mark overall (through Oct. 30) and an unblemished 11-0-0 record in the NACC to capture the program's first regular-season crown. This is Carrillo's second NACC Women's Soccer Coach of the Year honor. He was also recognized in 2014.

Dominican placed the maximum eight selections on the All-NACC women's soccer teams, including seven on the first team. Illinois Tech followed with six all-league honorees split evenly between the first and second teams, while MSOE had five, Concordia Wisconsin had three, Benedictine and Marian had two and Aurora and Wisconsin Lutheran had one apiece. 

2018 All-Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference Women's Soccer Team
Offensive Player of the Year - Josseline Williams, Dominican
Defensive Player of the Year - Danielle Mason, Dominican
Freshman of the Year - Jamie Griggs, Illinois Tech
Coach of the Year - Carlos Carrillo, Dominican
Pos. First Team School Yr. Hometown High School
GK Abbey Brown Dominican So. Huntley, Ill. Huntley
D Gabby Green Dominican Fr. Novi, Mich. St. Catherine of Siena
D Danielle Mason Dominican Fr. Noblesville, Ind. St. Theodore Guerin Catholic
D Madison Harris Illinois Tech Jr. Franklin, Wis. Divine Savior Holy Angels
D Jessica Jefferson MSOE Fr. Aurora, Colo. Eaglecrest
MF Shannon Carroll Concordia Wisconsin Jr. Mundelein, Ill. Mundelein
MF Leah Kostos Dominican So. Racine, Wis. Divine Savior Holy Angels
MF Tania Paez Dominican Sr. Berwyn, Ill. Morton West
MF Jamie Griggs Illinois Tech Fr. Lancaster, Calif. Eastside
MF Helen Joyce Wisconsin Lutheran Sr. De Pere, Wis. Fox Valley Lutheran
F Holli Cochran Dominican Fr. West Jordan, Utah Copper Hills
F Josseline Williams Dominican Jr. Kaysville, Utah Davis
F Katie Hoefgen Illinois Tech Sr. Wauwatosa, Wis. Wauwatosa East
F Jill Ruark MSOE Fr. Oshkosh, Wis. Oshkosh West
Pos. Second Team School Yr. Hometown High School
GK Cassidy Henson Benedictine Jr. Lockport, Ill. Lockport Township
D Ashley Johnson Concordia Wisconsin Sr. Chesterfield, Mich. L'Anse Creuse North
D Maggie McClure Dominican So. Yucaipa, Calif. Yucaipa
D Julia Honda Illinois Tech Fr. San Diego, Calif. San Dieguito
D Shelby Namen MSOE Sr. Anchorage, Alaska Robert Service
MF Alexis Abelove Aurora Jr. Tustin, Calif. Beckman
MF Kirsten Robinson Illinois Tech Sr. Newcastle, Calif. Del Oro
MF Reilly Louko Marian Sr. Fond du Lac, Wis. Oakfield
MF Gracie Horton MSOE So. San Diego, Calif. Westview
MF Jeray Riffel MSOE Jr. Kewaskum, Wis. Kewaskum
F Abbie Graham Benedictine Jr. Silvis, Ill. United Township
F Alexandra Tomich Concordia Wisconsin So. Mission Viejo, Calif. San Juan Hills
F Julia Taliana Illinois Tech So. Carlsbad, Calif. Carlsbad
F Olivia Meerdink Marian Fr. Oostburg, Wis. Oostburg
Pos. Honorable Mention School Yr. Hometown High School
D Kelsey King Aurora Sr. Santa Ana, Calif. Tustin
F Giselle Torres Aurora Fr. Oswego, Ill. Oswego
D Krista Pojero Concordia Chicago Sr. Neptune, N.J. Neptune
GK Madeline Kroll Concordia Chicago Sr. Geneva, Ill. Geneva
F Nicole Ciesielczyk Concordia Wisconsin Sr. Waukesha, Wis. Pewaukee
D Josie Dombrowski Concordia Wisconsin Jr. Bartlett, Ill. Bartlett
GK Grace Wildeboer Edgewood So. Grand Rapids, Mich. Northview
GK Catherine Klemp Illinois Tech Fr. Broomfield, Colo. Broomfield
D Katherine Nishimoto Illinois Tech Sr. Lancaster, Calif. Lancaster