Aurora Extends Team Lead Headed to Final Day of NACC Women's Golf Championships

Aurora Extends Team Lead Headed to Final Day of NACC Women's Golf Championships

RACINE, Wis. ( --- First-round leader Aurora University extended its lead over second-place St. Norbert College to 22 strokes after 36 holes of the 2019 Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) Women's Golf Championship at Meadowbrook Country Club.

Championship Webpage | Live Scoring Link
Meadowbrook C.C. | 2019 Preview

Round 2 Leaderboard | Round 2 Team by Team
Round 3 Tee Times

The Spartans, who still have five players in the top 10 overall, posted a 357 in rainy conditions Sunday to take a 704 total into the Monday's final round. The Green Knights shaved six strokes off their opening-round total with a second-round 360, but still saw the overall deficit grow by three shots.

Lakeland University (388-375--763) and Concordia University Wisconsin (402-391--793) are solidly in third and fourth place overall, while Benedictine University (422-431--835) is fifth just ahead of Marian University (440-421--861) in sixth. Edgewood College (437-442--879), Wisconsin Lutheran College (449-446--895) and Alverno College (537-539--1,076) round out the team standings.

Monday's final round will feature a split format with teams ranking fourth through ninth teeing off on holes nine through 15 in a shotgun format at 9 a.m. The top three teams after 36 holes - Aurora, St. Norbert, and Lakeland - will go off the No. 1 tee beginning 30 minutes later.

Lakeland senior Ali Wilson, again playing in the first group of the day, continues to hold a two-stroke lead over the rest of the field after firing a second-round 87 for a 170 total. Aurora's Hannah Schulz, playing in Wilson's group, kept pace with the medalist leader with an 87 of her own and sits at 172 overall, while the third member of the group - St. Norbert's Kayley Sjoholm - is third with a 176 total. Aurora's Sarah Isaacs is fourth at 177, while teammate Becca Hasemann is tied for fifth overall at 178 with Edgewood's Sarah Pophal and St. Norbert's Elizabeth Bobinski.

Aurora's Madison Erickson (180), Benedictine's Ries McCue (183) and Aurora's Shelby Bergholz (185) round out the top 10.

The top 10 individuals following Monday's final round earn all-conference honors.

Monday's champion will earn the NACC's automatic berth into the field at the 2020 NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championship, which will be held May 12-15 on the Champions Course at PGA National Resort in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida.