Aurora Extends Lead Headed to Final Day at #NACCwgolf Championships

Aurora Extends Lead Headed to Final Day at #NACCwgolf Championships

RACINE, Wis. ( --- First-round leader Aurora University fired another low round Saturday, extending its lead to 88 strokes heading into Sunday's final round of the 2018 Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) Women's Golf Championship at Meadowbrook Country Club.

Live Statistics Link  |  36-Hole Scores  |  Round 3 Tee Times/Pairings

The Spartans backed up Friday's record round with a 340 total Saturday afternoon, posting four scores in the 80s. Lakeland University (387-375--762) solidified its hold on second place, while Benedictine University (388-396--784) now leads defending NACC champion Concordia University Wisconsin (400-390--790) by just six strokes. Wisconsin Lutheran College (433-445--878) sits fifth and Marian University (470-462--932) moved past Alverno College (468-469--937) into sixth place to round out the team standings.

Aurora also holds five of the top nine spots in the medalist race. First-round co-leaders Kallie Sakamoto and Becca Haseman each carded 82s for 162 totals. They hold a nine-stroke lead over teammate Hannah Schulz (84-87--171). Fellow Spartans Sarah Isaacs (90-89--179) and Madison Erickson (94-91--185) sit tied for fifth and eighth, respectively. Lakeland's Ali Wilson (88-86--174) is alone in fourth, while Benedictine's Kelly Barker (87-92--179) is tied with Isaacs for fifth. Colleen Nolan (92-89--181) sits seventh overall to give the Muskies two in the top 10. Edgewood's Sarah Pophal fired an 86 Saturday, rebounding from an opening-round 99 and is tied with Erickson for eighth at 185. Concordia Wisconsin's Amy Carpenter (96-92--188) rounds out the top 10. The top 10 individuals in the final medalist standings will earn all-conference recognition.

For the second straight day, Haseman finished with a birdie at the last, while Sakamoto opened her round with a birdie at No. 1. Wilson and Pophal each had three birdies in their rounds, with Pophal posting birdies at No. 15 and No. 18 en route to a 39 on her back nine.

Sunday's final round will begin at 9:30 a.m. Teams will be separated into flights based on their opening round score. The top four teams will constitute the first flight, while the remaining teams plus individuals representing Edgewood College will make up the second flight. Teams again will be flighted with the top players representing each school going off first, followed by the No. 2 player, the No. 3s, etc.

Sunday's champion will earn the conference's automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Women's Golf Championship, which will be held May 14-17, 2019 at Bay Oaks Country Club in Houston, Texas.