Day One Concludes at NACC Outdoor Track & Field Championships

Day One Concludes at NACC Outdoor Track & Field Championships

LISLE, Ill. ( --- The Aurora University women and Milwaukee School of Engineering men hold leads in the team races after day one of the 2019 Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) Outdoor Track and Field Championships Friday at the Village of Lisle-Benedictine University Sports Complex.

Aurora leads the women's team race with 86 points, nearly double the total posted by MSOE (45). Concordia Wisconsin (25), Concordia Chicago (21), Wisconsin Lutheran (19), Edgewood (18), Benedictine (10), Rockford (3) and Marian (2) rounded out the scoring.

MSOE leads Aurora, 55-45, after six events in the men's team race. Concordia Wisconsin (36) sits third ahead of Benedictine (32), Wisconsin Lutheran (31), Illinois Tech (21), Edgewood (9) and Rockford (5).

While the schedule for the opening day of the championships is filled primarily with preliminary heats, there were four event finals on the track Friday afternoon.

Edgewood's Taylor Mair won the women's 10,000-meter run in a time of 39:46.98, using a late kick to get past Aurora's Jackie Schane (39:57.34). In the men's 10,000, Cole Dammeier became Illinois Tech's first NACC outdoor individual champion with a time of 32:26.71.

In the 3,000 steeplechase, Aurora's Jazzmine Reyes (12:03.77) won the women's race by over a minute, while Wisconsin Lutheran's Brady Stuck (9:56.59) crossed just ahead of MSOE's Nolan Kozinski (10:00.86) to win the men's race.

Wisconsin Lutheran athletes lead at the midway of the both multi-event competitions. Sam Rodmyre leads the decathlon with 2,815 points, while Kiana Granath (2,311) holds a slim lead over Aurora's Caitlyn Graff (2,288) in the heptathlon.

Event finals were also contested in four of the eight field events Friday. 

Aurora's Akeem Haye won the men's javelin throw with a mark of 46.16 meters (151-5). Haye also posted the top qualifying times in both the 100 (10.72) and 200 (21.96) dashes. The Spartans swept the javelin as Adriana Ramirez won the women's event with a throw of 38.60 meters (126-8).

A third Spartan to claim an individual title was Ryan Njegovan in the discus with a throw of 50.12 meters (164-5). He won the competition by over 30 feet. The women's discus title went to Concordia Chicago senior Jessica Wilson with a throw of 39.87 meters (130-10).

Concordia Wisconsin's Grant Johnson (4.30 meters; 14-1.25) and Benedictine's Eve Meintz (3.30m; 10-10) won the pole vault titles, with Meintz edging Aurora's Elizabeth Branigan based on having fewer misses.

Benedictine freshman Xavier Jones (14.02 meters; 46-0) captured the men's triple jump title, while MSOE's Jerica Kotarak (11.51 meters; 37-9.25) topped teammate Bianca Trombley (11.02 meters; 36-2) by over 18 inches.

In preliminary action on the track, CUC's Kayla Armstrong has the top qualifying times in the 100 (12.01) and 200 (24.62), leading the field by around a second in both of the short sprints, while also qualifying third in the 400 (1:00.94). Teammate Simone Wilson is the top qualifier in the 100 hurdles (15.34) and takes the second best time into the 200 final (25.86).

Wisconsin Lutheran's Leah Rosenow topped qualifying in the 400 (59.87) and sits third in the 200 (26.22).

Benedictine's Marcos Garcia (1:59.89) and MSOE's Patricia Bray (2:28.80) recorded the top qualifying times in the 800.

Wisconsin Lutheran's Jonah Jahns recorded the best qualifying time (48.86) in the men's 400. CUW's Samual Spranger sits second on the board in the 400 (49.56) and fifth in the 200 (22.45). Benedictine's DJ Anderson won qualifying heats in both the 200 (22.10) and 400 (50.16) to advance to both finals.

Saturday's schedule gets underway with the multi-events. The decathlon resumes at 10 a.m. followed by the heptathlon at 10:30 a.m.

Field events get underway at 11 a.m. with the women's shot put and high jump and the men's hammer and long jump.

The on-track portion of the championships is slated to begin at noon with the men's 400-meter relay and concluding at 4:05 p.m. with the women's 1,600 relay. The awards ceremony will conclude the proceedings at approximately 4:40 p.m.

Saturday, May 4

Time Multi-Events  
10:00 AM Decathlon  
  (110mH, Discus, Pole Vault, Javelin, 1500m)  
10:30 AM Heptathlon  
  (Long Jump, Javelin, 800m)  
Time Field Events  
11:00 AM Women's Shot Put  
  Men's Hammer  
  Women's High Jump  
  Men's Long Jump  
1:30 PM Men's Shot Put  
  Women's Hammer  
  Men's High Jump  
Time Running Events (Men followed by Women)  
12:00 PM Men's 400-Meter Relay Final
12:15 PM Women's 400-Meter Relay Final
12:20 PM Men's 1,500-Meter Run Final
12:35 PM Women's 1,500-Meter Run Final
12:50 PM Heptathlon - 800-Meter Run Estimated
1:05 PM Men's 110-Meter Hurdles Final
1:15 PM Women's 100-Meter Hurdles Final
1:25 PM Men's 400-Meter Dash Final
1:30 PM Women's 400-Meter Dash Final
1:40 PM Men's 100-Meter Dash Final
1:45 PM Women's 100-Meter Dash Final
1:50 PM Men's 800-Meter Run Final
1:55 PM Women's 800-Meter Run Final
2:00 PM Decathlon - 1,500-Meter Run Estimated
2:15 PM Men's 400-Meter Hurdles Final
2:25 PM Women's 400-Meter Hurdles Final
2:35 PM Men's 200-Meter Dash Final
2:40 PM Women's 200-Meter Dash Final
2:45 PM Men's 5,000-Meter Run Final
3:10 PM Women's 5,000-Meter Run Final
3:55 PM Men's 1,600-Meter Relay Final
4:05 PM Women's 1,600-Meter Relay Final
4:40 PM Awards Ceremony  
* Saturday Heptathlon 800m and Decathlon 1500m will run on the track a minimum of 30 min. following their previous event. Scheduled track events will adjust back accordingly.