Eureka To Become NACC Affiliate Member In Football

Eureka College will join the NACC as an affiliate member in football in 2018.
Eureka College will join the NACC as an affiliate member in football in 2018.

The Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference has added Eureka College as an affiliate member in the sport of football beginning the 2018 season to give the league an eight-team field.

"We are very pleased to have Eureka College joining the NACC as an affiliate member in football," said NACC Commissioner G. Steven Larson. "Eureka has a long-standing relationship and history of competing with many of our members in the past. They have demonstrated both commitment to their football program and competitiveness. This will be a very good fit for all concerned."

Prior to when football became a championship sport in the NACC in 2008, the Red Devils faced off against many current conference members in the former Illini-Badger Football Conference for over 20 years.

Founded in 1855, Eureka is a private liberal arts and science institution, which also provides professional programs with a liberal arts emphasis. The college has a total enrollment of 700.

"We are pleased to count Eureka College as football competitors in the NACC," said Rebecca Sherrick, Aurora University president and chair of the NACC Council of Chief Executive Officers. "As our newest affiliate, the Red Devils join a core group of higher education institutions committed to providing NCAA Division III student-athletes with opportunities to excel in the classroom and on the gridiron."

Eureka had a record of 8-2 last season after a 5-5 campaign in 2015.

The NACC currently sponsors 19 sports and consists of 12 private colleges and universities from the shared-border states of Illinois and Wisconsin, all of which are NCAA Division III members. The members of the NACC include Alverno College, Aurora University, Benedictine University, Concordia University Chicago, Concordia University Wisconsin, Dominican University, Edgewood College, Lakeland College, Marian University, Milwaukee School of Engineering, Rockford University and Wisconsin Lutheran College.