NFCA Announces 2017-18 Academic Teams and Scholar Athletes

NFCA Announces 2017-18 Academic Teams and Scholar Athletes

LOUISVILLE, Ky. --- Four Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference (NACC) softball programs have been recognized by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) as Easton/NFCA Academic Teams for the 2018 season.

Easton/NFCA Academic Teams  |  Easton/NFCA All-America Scholar-Athletes

Aurora University was the highest-ranked program in 48th place with a 3.424 grade-point average. Concordia University Wisconsin (t-61st, 3.380), Benedictine University (68th, 3.356) and Dominican University (69th, 3.354) were also recognized.

Additionally, 62 individuals representing NACC schools earned Easton/NFCA Scholar-Athlete honors.

The rankings and honors recognize the academic prowess of softball teams across the Association’s membership categories. NCAA Division III led the way with 1,600 student-athletes earning a 3.5 grade-point average or higher for 2017-18. NCAA Division I and Division II followed with 1,311 and 1,026 honorees. High School weighted and High School unweighted earned 743 and 589 distinctions. Two-year colleges amassed 553 recipients and NAIA totaled 456.

2018 Easton/NFCA Academic Teams
48. Aurora University - 3.424
t61. Concordia University Wisconsin - 3.380
68. Benedictine University - 3.356
69. Dominican University - 3.354

2018 Easton/NFCA All-America Scholar-Athletes
Aurora (22) - Brooke Baeyens, Stacy Bellack, Abigail Brown, Emily Burns, Jessica DeVries, Bailey Gourley, Emily Griffin, Samantha Helton, Haley Malok, Sarah Marsden, Madison Patrick, Paige Pehlke, Ashley Pittman, Stephanie Renner, Abbey Rosenow, Lara Salazar, Alyson Teixeira, Nina Tholl, Hannah Tomasko, Elaine Walker, Lauren Wencewitz, Britni Wilson
Benedictine (6) - Tiffany Busch, Courtney Grasz, Karlyn Manley, Nicole Manley, Nicole Parney, Breanna Sobotka, Kimberly Tegtmeier
Concordia Wisconsin (10) - Becky Bonnin, Emma Fullenkamp, Nicole Lewis, Molly O'Connell, Jamie Reiser, Heather Renard, Sara Rosenow, Emma Schimberg, Carly Upmann, Madeline Zazas
Dominican (8) - Olivia Babusci, Marissa Burns, Katie Fredrick, Hannah Gordon, Kaila Haslem, Catherine Klostermann, Alena Valenzuela, Ali Woitovich
Rockford (7) - Mickey Andrew, Emily Johannes, Linzy Keller, Taylor Pilarczyk, Sammi Russel, Gretchen Schrubbe, Alex Storey
Wisconsin Lutheran (9) - Taylor Bjork, Mary Lynn Clausen, Melissa Ericson, Rebecca Foster, Breanna Johnson, Kaitlyn Kammerer, Claire Luebke, Abby Mahsem, Gracie Wilson