Concordia Chicago's Armstrong Advances to Finals in 400-Meter Dash

Kayla Armstrong, Concordia Chicago
Kayla Armstrong, Concordia Chicago

GENEVA, Ohio (naccsports.org) — Concordia University Chicago sophomore Kayla Armstrong ran a personal-best time in the 400-meter preliminaries Friday afternoon, advancing to Saturday's final at the 2019 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships at the SPIRE Institute.


NCAA Championship Results


Armstrong clocked in at 55.54 seconds, finishing second behind Gina Dello Russo of Stevens Institute of Technology in her preliminary heat. She will take the third fastest time - behind Dello Russo (55.24) and Nebraska Wesleyan University's Kaylee Jones (55.51) - into the final. Armstrong, who also qualified for the final in the 200, will open her Saturday with the 400 final at 1:10 p.m. local time (12:10 p.m. Central Time). It will then be a short turnaround before the 200 final at 2:40 p.m. local time (1:40 p.m. CT).

Aurora University senior thrower Ryan Njegovan was the only other NACC competitor Friday, placing 15th after a toss of 15.61 meters (51-2.75). Njegovan completed his career as a five-time all-American, including national titles in the indoor shot put and outdoor discus in 2017. Prior to those titles, no other AU team or individual had finished higher than second nationally.

The remainder of the NACC contingent competing Saturday consists of CUC's Jessica Wilson and Aurora's Jocelyn Ocon in the women's hammer throw (11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT), MSOE's Jerica Kotarak in the women's triple jump (1:45 p.m. ET/12:45 p.m. CT), and Benedictine's Marcos Garcia in the men's 5,000 (3:25 p.m. ET/2:25 p.m. CT).

Women          
Student-Athlete School Event Seed Seed Mark Championship Schedule/Mark
Kayla Armstrong Concordia Chicago 200 4th 24.47 Prelims: 2nd in heat (24.73); adv. to final
Final: Saturday, 2:40 p.m.
Kayla Armstrong Concordia Chicago 400 3rd 55.78 Prelims: 2nd in heat (55.54); adv. to final
Final: Saturday, 1:10 p.m.
Simone Wilson Concordia Chicago 400 hurdles 16th 1:02.31 15th/5th in heat (1:03.48); DNQ for final
Jessica Wilson Concordia Chicago Hammer Throw 3rd 55.79 meters (183-0) Prelims/Finals: Saturday, 11 a.m.
Jocelyn Ocon Aurora 7th 53.66 meters (176-0)
Jerica Kotarak MSOE Long Jump 18th 5.71 meters (18-9) 16th (5.57m; 18-3.25)
Jerica Kotarak MSOE Triple Jump 9th 11.93 meters (39-1.75) Prelims/Finals: Saturday, 1:45 p.m.
           
Men          
Student-Athlete School Event Seed Seed Mark Championship Schedule/Mark
Ryan Njegovan Aurora Shot Put 19th 16.22 meters (53-2.75) 15th (15.61m; 51-2.75)
Ryan Njegovan Aurora Discus Throw 3rd 53.05 meters (174-0) 7th (49.56m; 162-7), All-American
Marcos Garcia Benedictine 5000 7th 14:22.45 Final: Saturday, 3:25 p.m.