Aurora's Njegovan Captures All-America Honors in Discus at NCAA Outdoor Championships

Aurora thrower Ryan Njegovan (Photo: Ryan Coleman, d3photography.com)
Aurora thrower Ryan Njegovan (Photo: Ryan Coleman, d3photography.com)

GENEVA, Ohio (naccsports.org) — Aurora University senior Ryan Njegovan earned all-America honors in the discus for the second time in three years with a seventh-place finish Thursday at the 2019 NCAA Division III Outdoor Track & Field Championships at the SPIRE Institute. 


NCAA Championship Results


Njegovan, two years removed from his national championship-winning effort in the same ring, safely qualified for the finals with a mark of 49.41 meters on his opening throw of the competition. He improved his mark to 49.56 meters (162-7) on his initial throw in the finals but could not better that effort with either of his final two attempts and finished in seventh place.

In addition to Njegovan, MSOE's Jerica Kotarak (long jump) competed in the women's long jump Thursday, while Concordia Chicago's Kayla Armstrong (200) and Simone Wilson (400 hurdles) contested preliminary heats.

Kotarak cleared 5.57 meters (18-3.25) on her final attempt, falling six inches short of the final transfer spot for finals. After ties were broken, she ended up with a 16th-place finish.

Armstrong crossed the line second in her preliminary heat of the 200 with a time of 24.73 seconds, advancing to Saturday's final (2:40 p.m. ET/1:40 p.m. CT) with the seventh-fastest time. Wilson was fifth in her qualifying heat of the 400 hurdles. Her time of 1:03.48 left her in 15th place overall and out of Saturday's championship final. 

Njegovan and Armstrong will be the only NACC qualifiers in action Friday. Njegovan competes in the shot put at 11:30 a.m. (10:30 a.m. CT), while Armstrong runs in 400 prelims at 3 p.m. (2 p.m. CT).

The remainder of the NACC contingent competes on Saturday with CUC's Jessica Wilson and Aurora's Jocelyn Ocon in the women's hammer throw (11 a.m. ET/10 a.m. CT), Kotarak in the women's triple jump (1:45 p.m. ET/12:45 p.m. CT), and Benedictine's Marcos Garcia in the men's 5,000 (3:25 p.m. ET/2:25 p.m. CT). Should Armstrong also qualify for the final in the women's 400, it will be run at 1:10 p.m. ET (12:10 p.m. CT).

Women          
Student-Athlete School Event Seed Seed Mark Championship Schedule/Mark
Kayla Armstrong Concordia Chicago 200 4th 24.47 Prelims: 2nd in heat (24.73); adv. to final
Final: Saturday, 2:40 p.m.
Kayla Armstrong Concordia Chicago 400 3rd 55.78 Prelims: Friday, 3 p.m.
Final: Saturday, 1:10 p.m.
Simone Wilson Concordia Chicago 400 hurdles 16th 1:02.31 15th/5th in heat (1:03.48); DNQ for final
Jessica Wilson Concordia Chicago Hammer Throw 3rd 55.79 meters (183-0) Prelims/Finals: Saturday, 11 a.m.
Jocelyn Ocon Aurora 7th 53.66 meters (176-0)
Jerica Kotarak MSOE Long Jump 18th 5.71 meters (18-9) 16th (5.57m; 18-3.25)
Jerica Kotarak MSOE Triple Jump 9th 11.93 meters (39-1.75) Prelims/Finals: Saturday, 1:45 p.m.
           
Men          
Student-Athlete School Event Seed Seed Mark Championship Schedule/Mark
Ryan Njegovan Aurora Shot Put 19th 16.22 meters (53-2.75) Prelims/Finals: Friday, 11:30 a.m.
Ryan Njegovan Aurora Discus Throw 3rd 53.05 meters (174-0) 7th (49.56m; 162-7), All-American
Marcos Garcia Benedictine 5000 7th 14:22.45 Final: Saturday, 3:25 p.m.