VanDuser, Greco Highlight 2017 NACC Baseball Awards

Bryan VanDuser (l), Frank Greco (r)
Bryan VanDuser (l), Frank Greco (r)

The Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference has announced the baseball awards for the 2017 season, as voted on by the league's head coaches.

Concordia University Chicago's Bryan VanDuser was named Position Player of the Year and Benedictine University's Frank Greco was tabbed Pitcher of the Year.

Milwaukee School of Engineering's D.J. Ellifson was honored as Freshman of the Year while Concordia Chicago's Mike Stawski was voted Coach of the Year by his peers following the Cougars (26-11, 18-2 NACC) fifth straight NACC regular season title.

VanDuser (Plainfield, Ill.) led the league with a .430 batting average at the conclusion of the regular season. The sophomore shortstop also had the top on-base percentage at .430 and fourth-best slugging percentage at .631 as he connected for 12 doubles, three triples and four home runs while swiping 16 bases which was second in the conference.

Greco (Hickory Hills, Ill.) led the NACC with eight wins and a 1.94 ERA for the Eagles (23-16, 12-8). The sophomore right-hander led the conference with three shutouts and had 52 strikeouts to just 18 walks.

Ellifson (Oak Creek, Wis.), an outfielder, batted .329 with a .462 on-base percentage with 16 RBIs for the Raiders (19-19, 10-10) in his rookie campaign.

The complete awards listing appears below.


2017 NACC Baseball Awards

Position Player of the Year: Bryan VanDuser, Concordia Chicago

Pitcher of the Year: Frank Greco, Benedictine

Freshman of the Year: D.J. Ellifson, MSOE

Coach of the Year: Mike Stawski, Concordia Chicago

First Team All-NACC        
Mike Formella Concordia Chicago Jr. P Homer Glen, Ill.
Steve Gavin Edgewood Jr. P Reedsburg, Wis.
Frank Greco Benedictine So. P Hickory Hills, Ill.
Daniel Supple Dominican Sr. P Albany, Calif.
Kevin Coppin Concordia Chicago Jr. C Lisle, Ill
Brent Spohr Concordia Chicago Sr. 1B Ingleside, Ill.
Tanner Kiser Benedictine Sr. 1B Lake Zurich, Ill.
Mitch Wilson Concordia Chicago Jr. 2B Oswego, Ill.
Owen Burnikel MSOE Jr. 3B Winona, Minn.
Cole Logemann Rockford Sr. SS Lena, Ill.
Matt Schubert Concordia Wisconsin Sr. SS West Bend, Wis.
Bryan VanDuser Concordia Chicago So. SS Plainfield, Ill.
Jimmy Carrington MSOE Jr. OF Racine, Wis.
Colin Janison Dominican Jr. OF Las Vegas, Nev.
Bryan Thomas Concordia Wisconsin Sr. OF Lowell, Ind.
Nick Lehner Edgewood Sr. DH Muskego, Wis.
Second Team All-NACC        
David Camacho Rockford Sr. P Elk Grove, Ill.
Keaton Conner Concordia Chicago Jr. P Indianapolis, Ind.
Andrew Gibbons Concordia Wisconsin Jr. P Markesan, Wis.
Brian Musielak Concordia Chicago Jr. P Chicago, Ill.
Chris Roycroft Aurora So. P Villa Park, Ill.
Jacob Stockman Aurora Jr. P Greenwood, S.C.
Travis Regalado Lakeland So. 1B Wilcox, Ariz.
Jeff Woods Aurora Sr. 3B Plano, Ill.
Erik Callaghan Benedictine Sr. SS Oak Forest, Ill.
Jeffrey Mayes Aurora So. SS Hoffman Estates, Ill.
Honorable Mention: Cody Caballero, Concordia Chicago, (Sr., P); Brendan Klein, Concordia Chicago (Sr., OF); Adam Lipscomb, Aurora (Sr., 2B); Matthew Olig, Concordia Wisconsin, (Fr., P); Garrett Willems, MSOE (Jr., 1B).
All-Freshman Team        
Seth Cox Concordia Wisconsin Fr. P Gilbert, Ariz.
Dylan Knoespel Wisconsin Lutheran Fr. P Brillion, Wis.
Mike Buckley Dominican Fr. C Frankfort, Ill.
Frankie Sessa Dominican Fr. 1B Las Vegas, Nev.
Trey Johnson Marian Fr. 3B Trevor, Wis.
Spencer Garnett Concordia Wisconsin Fr. SS Clarendon Hills, Ill.
D.J. Ellifson MSOE Fr. OF Oak Creek, Wis.
Jack Feeley Benedictine Fr. OF Naperville, Ill.
Brannigan Hart Wisconsin Lutheran Fr. OF Davie, Fla.
Jimmy McLaughlin Benedictine Fr. OF Schaumburg, Ill.